Middle Grade Action / Adventure
Ages 8 and up; grades 3 and up
Random House Books for Young Readers
September 24, 2013.

Twelve-year-old Hope lives in White Rock, a town struggling to recover from the green bombs of World War III. The bombs destroyed almost everything that came before, so the skill that matters most in White Rock—sometimes it feels like the only thing that matters—is the ability to invent so that the world can regain some of what it’s lost.

But Hope is terrible at inventing and would much rather sneak off to cliff dive into the Bomb's Breath— the deadly band of air that covers the crater the town lives in— than fail at yet another invention.

When bandits discover that White Rock has invented priceless antibiotics, they invade. The town must choose whether to hand over the medicine and die from disease in the coming months or to die fighting the bandits now. Hope and her friends, Aaren and Brock, might be the only ones who can escape through the Bomb’s Breath and make the dangerous trek over the snow-covered mountain to get help. Inventing won't help them, but the daring and risk-taking that usually gets Hope into trouble might just save them all.

Awards and Accolades:

Praise for Sky Jumpers:

“Utah author Peggy Eddleman gets everything right in her debut novel, Sky Jumpers. For a post-apocalyptic middle grade story, Eddleman manages to infuse hope and adventure onto every page and into every character. Sky Jumpers has plenty of action and more than enough heart to work its way into the hearts and minds of readers everywhere. With pacing that alternates between pulling you along through Hope's antics, and pushing you forward through the town's adventures, Sky Jumpers is a quick and delightful read for all ages.”
– The Deseret News

“Adventure and wonder permeate this tale, making it a fun, quick read. Eddleman brings a strong sense of atmosphere, and the underlying message—that it’s possible to contribute in unexpected ways—is a positive one.”
–Publishers Weekly

“The curriculum strengths of this book include heavy STEM subjects such as chemistry, medical biology, and earth science, as well as the structure of local government and nation building. Students not ready for the violence of The Hunger Games will enjoy the book’s adrenaline-rush daredevil adventures in the first installment in this series.”
–School Library Journal

“Sky Jumpers is an absolutely thrilling, seat-of-your-pants adventure for middle school readers. Fans of The Emerald Atlas and Percy Jackson will rush to this tale about a village that, after WWIII, is one of only a few remaining on what is left of Earth, as ‘green bombs’ have devastated the planet. Sky jumpers plunge into a rarified air pocket that protects and shields the village but that has deadly consequences if one is unaware of the invisible danger. Led by 12-year-old Hope, a group of friends is on a dangerous mission to save their village. This perfect book for younger fans of The Hunger Games is truly fun, inventive, and exciting!”
—American Bookseller’s Association, Maureen Palacios

"A quick, event-filled read in a cleverly crafted setting."
 —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"In a world where everything we know must be reinvented, twelve-year-old Hope and her best friends Aaron and Brock are faced with the challenge of defending their home and protecting their future. A post-apocalyptic adventure young readers will love."
Marianne Malone, author of The Sixty Eight Rooms Adventures

Buying information:
Hardback: September 24, 2013 from Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0307981274
ISBN-13: 9780307981271

Audio Book: September 24, 2013 from Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0804126895
ISBN-13: 9780804126892

For rights inquires, please contact Sara Crowe at Harvey Klinger, Inc.


Middle Grade Action / Adventure
Ages 8 and up; grades 3 and up
Random House Books for Young Readers
September 23, 2014

Twelve-year-old Hope has always felt a little different from everyone else who lives in White Rock. She tries hard, but she doesn’t always think before she acts. She takes big risks. Sometimes her risks pay off, but sometimes they fail. Sometimes she fails.

Hope knows that the most dangerous thing about living in White Rock is that it’s so close to the deadly Bomb’s Breath—the invisible, fifteen-foot-thick band of compressed air that’s hovered over the earth since the Green Bombs of World War III. The citizens of White Rock live in fear of the Bomb’s Breath. Only Hope has figured out a way to go through it—and lived to tell the tale.

But when a massive tremor rips across the earth, the Bomb’s Breath begins to lower over White Rock. It’s up to Hope and her friends Brock and Aaren to make the dangerous journey far from home across the bandit-ridden Forbidden Flats to the wilds of the Rocky Mountains and obtain the one thing that may be able to stop it—before the Bomb’s Breath sinks too far and destroys them all. This time, Hope can’t fail.

Buying information:

Hardback: September 23, 2014 from Random House Books for Young Readers 
ISBN-10: 0307981312 
ISBN-13: 978-0307981318

Audio Book: September 23, 2014 from Listening Library 
ISBN-10: 0553395777 
ISBN-13: 978-0553395778

For rights inquires, please contact Sara Crowe at Harvey Klinger, Inc.